Clerk: Hannah Shaw
248 Markfield Road, Groby
Leicester LE6 0FS

Who we are & what we do

The Parish Council consists of 7 elected councillors who serve for a four year term. All Councillors are voluntary and receive no payment whatsoever.

The Clerk's Office is located at 248 Markfield Road Groby Leicester LE6 0FS

Council Meetings are held most months in the village hall - see the diary of meetings for more information.

Newtown Linford Parish Council maintains the Bob Bown Memorial Field, the closed Church Yard Cemetery and the Groby Lane Cemetery.

For further information relating to the services offered by the Parish Council please contact the Parish Clerk who will be happy to give advice and assistance.


Our councillors are elected or co-opted, if you would like to become a councillor or find out more about what they do please read the following two documents

  • The Good Councillor Guide (PDF, 1.7 Mb)

    A useful guide for new Councillors explaining the rules and procedures for Local Councils

  • It takes all sorts (PDF, 5.2 Mb)

    A publication from the National Association of Local Councils explaining the role of a Parish Councillor.

  • Councillors

    A list of our councillors elected in 2019 along with contact information.